Growing up I would have given anything to have met Def leppard or Bon Jovi. I would rock out in my bedroom screaming at the top of my lungs “Pour some sugar on me” & “You give love a bad name”. AHHH the eighties! Long gone are those days when I would daydream about being onstage and being a rockstar. Perhaps Third Day says it best for me in their song ” I want to be a rockstar, but I ain’t got what it takes!”

Today my rock stars are a lot differeft. They’re preachers. Yeah yeah I know, Preachers can’t be rock stars, but in a way this is what we have made them. They have Millions of fans who follow them and track them and keep up with they’re blogs, the only difference I see in them and real rockstars is that they have something worth promoting.

What better icons and rolemodels to have then to have men( yes men, not you Joyce Meyer) who are preaching the Word of God. I have been trying to introduce some of my youth to my favorite “rockstars” and oddly enough they’re actually begining to like them. Youth who like preaching? What the…?

Maybe one day I’ll be a rock star, maybe not. That’s not my goal. I would love to meet these men one day but until then I’ll keep downloading their sermons and learning from their vessels of knowledge. Thank God for Rockstars!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

