Well, its here. Monday morning. I must return to work. I really don’t wanna. Not because I’m lazy. Not because I hate my job. I don’t want to leave my study. There are too many books to read, blogs to read, Scriptures to study, dreams to be made, and goals to set. But, no, alas my behind must drag out the door to go forage in the workforce providing a means for my family to live. I love my family. I wish I could stay home with them. Being on vacation for a week was really a nice change of pace!

I look to the day when I can stay home on Monday mornings. But that may become boring too and then I will start looking forward to what Mark Driscoll calls Breadtruck Mondays.

One thing I look forward to this week is Thursday. Thursday I go to Savannah to register for my classes this fall. I really enjoy my school and I am almost complete which is bittersweet.  This semester I will be taking a class on James, Preaching to Change lives, Systematic theology, and Christian Ethics. I am looking forward to this coming semester. Probably because one of my favorite professor’s will be teaching, Dr. Steve Haskins. Dr. Steve is a church planter who was very instrumental in my thinking of church planting and the role of the small church vs. the mega church. He is a very brillant teacher and extremely gifted preacher. Check out his site at ekklesiasavannah.org.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

