Well, I took my wife and son fishing for a couple of hours last night. My wife truly loves to fish and my son, although he says he loves to fish, just loves to run around and throw things into the water.

We went to a neighbors pond down the road from us and the water level was extremely low. On my first cast out a fish snatched my cork under and as soon as I tried to set the hook, my line came zipping back at me minus my cork and hook. I quickly repaired my pole and for the next 20 minutes unsuccessfully tried to land it.

My wife on the otherhand was fishing with three poles: one with a minnow, one with a cricket, and one with an artificial lure. (She can multi-task). She was not getting any bites either.

Fastforward an hour later, I was just about to give up when I decided to throw my line next to the spill-over pipe and no longer did my cork hit the water when it went under  and I caught a nice size bluegill.  I ended up catching eight fish from that spot and had to give it up because right at dusk a storm showed up with some impressive lightning and thunder.

My wife did manage to catch one bass about 12 inches and just under a pound. Here’s a photo of our successful trip.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

