Well it has come and gone. My birthday. Yesterday marked the celebration that took place 31 years ago in Jacksonville, FL.  Gone are the days of anticipation leading up to my birthdays. I used to get that excited feeling in my stomach, as if Christmas morning was about to approach. Not anymore.

I was asked by my wife a few weeks ago if I wanted to do anything special for my birthday; and I thought really hard about something we could do. After some thought and a little deliberation, I knew exactly what I wanted to do. So here’s how I spent my Birthday evening.

My wife, son, and I loaded up in the van and headed over to Metter and ordered a pizza from Village Pizza(Local establishment;very good pizza). We then proceeded to Movie Gallery where we rented four videos. We went back to pick up our pizza and headed home. Once home, We all gathered in front of the TV with our plates of pizza and enjoyed the movie “Open Season”. (My son and I laughed profusely) After it ended my wife and I curled up in the bed and put in “The Bucket List”. We made it about 15 minutes into the movie before I fell asleep. My wife woke me up to tell me “good night” and I thanked her for my birthday. Her response was “I felt like it was a birthday for me. We never get do what we have done this evening.”

Our lives are hectic. In just a few days I will be returning to school in Savannah on Monday and Tuesday evenings. Sundays are spent at the church, pretty much all day. Wednesday evenings are spent at the church as well which leaves Thursday, Friday, and Saturday to spend with my family. Unfortunately those days will be spent between working, studying for school, and preparing for lessons and sermons.(Sigh) Although this schedule will not last forever, it is for now. 

To take an evening to relax and hang with my family and not have to worry about doing anything else was extremely nice. I look forward to every Saturday night because I have made a commitment to be home on Saturday nights because that’s Family Movie Night at our house.  If I could caution anyone starting out in the ministry, such as I am, allow me to offer this word of advice… Take care of your family and God will take care of your ministry. Hard lessons have been learned by approaching it vice versa.

The best birthday present for me… time with my family. The excited feeling in my stomach has returned as I can’t wait to do it agin next year! I hope your next birthday will be as blessed as mine!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. Rick Boyer says:

    I discovered your homepage by coincidence.
    Very interesting posts and well written.
    I will put your site on my blogroll.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

