Have you read the title of my blog and asked yourself “Commander PlankEYE”? Here’s the story.

I wanted to give myself a title. Something that speaks a little of myself and who I am.  I am a youth pastor, a deacon in the church, and an aspiring minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. However I do have flaws, and a major struggle for me is removing the plank from my eye before helping others remove the speck from their own (see Luke 6:41).

A very good friend of mine who also happens to be my brother in law uses the title Capn’ Plankeye for one of his nemesis'( His future ma-in-law).  I figured if she was Capn’ Plankeye, I was really worse, so I gave myself the title Commander. (I’m a little arrogant too)

I pray for understanding, patience, and humility to see others with the eyes of Jesus. I battle the spirit of self-righteousness and pride and one day hope to be honorably discharged from this title of service.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

