An interesting title that caught my attention. I started reading Shawn Lovejoy’s blog about a month ago. He’s a church planter in the Atlanta area and I really enjoy his posts. He seems to have good food for thought, and I enjoy other people’s perspectives on the churched and unchurched.

In his article, Why can’t the church be more like Jack Johnson?” , He states some very interesting points as to why people like going to concerts. He asks the pointed question  “So… If we KNEW this is what UNCHURCHED people were looking for, would we be willing to offer it in the church? Does that make you uncomfortable? ”

For myself, the answer is, yes. It would make me uncomfortable, quite a bit. I would like to say that it wouldn’t, but, I’d be lying. See I still have this little Pharisaical problem I’m working on. That being stated, I welcome the opportunity to be uncomfortable.

Once again Mr. Lovejoy states that “THESE people were the ones Jesus hung out with the MOST! He accepted them! He loved them!” I want to be like Jesus and if that means becoming uncomfortable in order to reach those who don’t know Him, well so be it. I hear all the time that in order to reach the un-churched , we need to think outside the box and leave our comfort zones. I believe Mr. Lovejoy to be “right on” in his post. Read the article and let me know what you think. In the words of Steve Brown, ” You think about it. I’m in!”

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

2 responses »

  1. Derek Turner says:

    I think the Church just needs to offer more JESUS!

    The quote: Mr. Lovejoy states that “THESE people were the ones Jesus hung out with the MOST! He accepted them! He loved them!” Is not really what scripture tells us. It’s only “kinda” true. Jesus actually spent most of His time with His disciples. Those who were dedicated to following him. The masses that loved the teaching and healing ministry of Jesus were following for various reasons and Jesus loved them, but to say that He spent most of His time with them to the exclusion of “Churched” people is to miss the great Commission. Make disciples, not just converts. People go wrong when they equate the modern church with the Religious rulers of Jesus’ day. Read what Jesus prayed in John 17… I’m not praying for the world, but for those you gave me. As a pastor, I will be faithful with the ones that God gives by doing church on Sunday, but being the church the other six days of the week. I’m all for reaching people by whatever means necessary and changing the method… not the message. But… A Jack Johnson concert won’t get anyone into a relationship with Jesus.

    I still like Jack Johnson!

  2. Chuck Mullis says:

    I definitely agree that the church needs to offer more Jesus. Too often the subject of Sunday sermons are ourselves.

    What I took from Lovejoy’s article is that, too often we only search out people who fit into our mold or who might make good “church folk”. The less desirable people are too often overlooked because we don’t see them adapting to fit us.

    Thanks for your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

