Saturday night in the Mullis house is family movie night. Wherever we are or whatever we’re doing it all has to cease by 8 pm so that we can spend some time together watching a movie and just being together.

When I was younger, Star Wars was new. My all time favorite was Return of the Jedi. A few weeks ago, my son and I had a rare opportunity to be at home alone, and looking through some old VHS tapes we had I found the Star Wars trilogy. My son was mesmerized by the video jacket and begged to watch the movies. With little or no arm twisting, we popped in Return of the Jedi. A monster was born!

Saturday night we watched the original Star Wars. I had forgotten how good the movie is and I am amazed at the special effects that were used way back in ’77. It truly is a treat to be able to share a piece of my childhood with my son and to watch him become as excited about the action/fighting that I loved so much as a child. He has already put in his request for next week to be the Empire Strikes Back. We just hope his mother can endure!

Until then… May the Force be with You!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

