Z-85. When I first heard of Z-85 it sounded like to me to be the promo for a radio station;” your’e listening to Z85 home of today’s classic hits”. I overheard someone make a comment on Sunday that it was a road somewhere on a map… close but not quite.

If you weren’t in church on Sunday, it was the first Sunday for Z-85. Z-85 is the new worship service for children @ 11am on Sunday mornings. Justin has revitalized the children’s ministry and is doing some pretty awesome things with them. If you have a child between the ages of 3 through fifth grade, you owe it to your children to let them experience Z85.

I know the trend in a lot of churches today is to keep the children in the worship service with the adults and for the family to worship together. I think that is a good idea in theory but not practical for all. There are a few problems I see with this for our church. SO if you disagree with me that’s fine, but here is the problem I see with keeping children in “big church” instead of having a worship service geared toward them.

 1. Big church discusses subjects that is well above the comprehension level of most children (and some adults too)

2. We have children who do not come with their family, they are brought with other members in the church.

3. It is a miracle to get a child to stay seated and quiet for five minutes let alone for an hour.

4. Unfortunately children aren’t being taught at home how to respond and act in church and even though it is not the place of the church to teach them, it must be done.

Now I know these four reasons are contreversial, and I expect a rebuttal from the other side, but it makes sense to me to teach children on their level and to teach them how to worship so that they are more focused on worship as they get older. 

So with that being said, I hope you will support Z85 and the work being done to lead, guide, and direct children to a relationship with Jesus Christ, which is the ultimate goal for Z85.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

