I remember where I was on September 11. 2001. I was working on an apartment building in Atlanta, discussing a stair layout with the framers, when I got the call. I had been waiting on another superintend it to show up so we could go and look at another job, but as usual, he was an hour and a half late. When my phone rang, I saw that it was he that was calling and before I could get any words out of my mouth, he excitedly said “Are you watching TV?!?” My response was less than delicate when I explained to him that I was working instead of watching the TV and suggested he get his rear in gear, because we had work to do.

While I waited for him to show up, which he never did, I went to the truck and listened to the events unfold on NPR. I sat their in disbelief and pondered what was happening, what would soon be happening, and how long before we could take matters into our own hands and kick some…butt.

Yesterday I had the privilege to witness an Army basic training graduation at Ft. Benning in Columbus, GA. At the opening of the ceremony they did some basic maneuvers with tanks, smoke grenades, and they explained the armor of today’s soldier. This exercise that lasted about five minutes was enough to make any red blooded male instantly desire to go sign up for combat.

I am amazed at the amount of training and discipline that goes into training these boys into men in such a short period of time. I was also fascinated to get to hear about the history of the 198th brigrade and the history of Military procedures.

As I stood there during the National Anthem, with my hand over my heart, I watched soldiers at full attention, both active and veteran, saluting our flag. I have never been more proud to be an American. I can think of no better way to spend a day, that for so many brought fear and uncertainty seven years ago, than to spend it celebrating the training of America’s finest who will defend our freedom.

To all who serve our country through the armed forces… Thank You!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

