I love reading Blogs! If you notice on the right hand side of the page I have a blogroll. This is not a complete list, but some of my more favorite to read. This morning as I sit trying to write what’s on my mind… I got nothing.

I thought that I would blog about the 22 year old virgin who is selling here virginity to pay for grad school. But the more I think about it, the more depressed I get. I constantly preach purity and abstinence to our youth because that is what God has intended for us, and then this “girl” is making headlines for selling her virginity and making a lot of money doing it! How do you compete? (I know you can’t compete, but you trust God).

I then thought I would blog about McCain’s choice of Sarah Palin for Vice President, and how I think this may not be the wisest choice, not because she isn’t qualified, but because she has family responsibilities that are more important than being vice president. I’m not against women in politics, or against women working, I just believe God has blessed women with a nurturing instinct that qualifies them for a more important job than being president, motherhood. So send on the hate mail for having an opinion but check out Voddie Baucham’s blog for his comments on the issue. I believe he hits the nail on the head!

Finally there is the issue of the upcoming Desiring God conference. I have already posted how I wish I could attend, but the conference is already catching flak and it hasn’t started yet!? Pulpit magazine is questioning the appearance of Mark Driscoll and his topic for the conference. While it is a sensitive topic, I think we should give him a chance to give his presentation before we start condemning him. There is an air of piousness amongst evengelical Christians that seems to be very condemning of others if they disagree with us. When will it be that we can agree to disagree. Some do it very well while the majority turn their noses up towards those with different convictions. I could go on but… Party on John Piper, thank you for your ministry and your topic of the upcoming conference; Rock on Mark Driscoll for having the …guts to say what so many of us wish we could!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

