A couple of weeks ago I posted about my son and his fascination with Star Wars. Again I will say how great it is to have a common interest with him and to be able to watch the movies and remember the excitement and adventure I had as a child watching the same movies.

Yesterday, my wife had a game to coach in Claxton and this left my son and I home alone. We worked together on my work truck and I pushed him on his swing and generally just spent time together. All day he continually begged me to watch Star Wars. Everytime I noticed him playing with his sword and running up the slide  and swinging on the rope, he was calling himself Skywalker.(I later found out I was Jabba the Hut)

Fast Forward. Time: 8:00 pm; When: Saturday Evening; Location: My bedroom; Attendees: Russell, Valerie, baby girl, and myself; Snack: Popcorn; Movie: The Empire Strikes Back.

As the movie began, my son who was so excited became more and more animated and several times had to be told to “calm down”. This is probably not the best movie to settle him down for bedtime but hey, it’s Saturday Night!

Halfway through the movie I noticed Russ had gotten very still. I eased up to see if his eyes were shut and he looked at me and said ” I ain’t asleep!” 15 minutes before the movie ended when Valerie and I were both fighting back sleep, I once again raised up to see if Russ was asleep. Yep, you betcha. Wide eyed and taking in every scene still.

After the movie was over, I got up and called for Russ to come brush his teeth. My wife, who must have been catnappping raised up and hugged Russell, and I heard her tell him “good night and I love you”. Russell’s reply to her was “I love you too mom, and … may the force be with you!”

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. […] STAR WARS FANatic September 2008 3 […]

Leave a Reply

