Today is Tuesday. Yesterday morning I had intended to write about an experience I had on Sunday evening. However I did not, because I did not rise out of bed at my usual time of 4:45 am. I slept in. I was so exhausted from the previous day, I did not hear the alarm go off, and did not wake up until 6:40 am.

Sunday evening I was given the opportunity to preach to our congregation @ Fairview Baptist Church in Lyons, Ga. I had studied all week, reading the text, forming an outline, writing a manuscript, rewriting the manuscript, rewriting the manuscript again, collecting my thoughts and praying for wisdom,understanding and clarity.

My text was 2 Corinthians 4:7-18 and titled my sermon “Bridge of Hope”. I titled it this because I used an example of a bridge to explain why we are not to lose hope but to be renewed daily (vs.16). I explained that they’re were two supports for this bridge. The first support held up our hope (vs.16) and the second support allowed our hope to rest upon it. The first support, found in verses 7-15, was our encouragement while the second support found in verses 17-18, was our motivation.

All in all I guess it went OK. I was unimpressed. To me, the sermon was choppy and uncoordinated. I was not comfortable with my outline because I had changed it many times during the process of preparation. There were moments of speaking extemporaneously but for the most part I stuck to my outline. Monday morning quarterbacking, I realize that the message God intended came through to whom it was intended, and I am not worried about my “performance”. It is what it is.

When I had finished, I had several people come to me and tell me how much they enjoyed it and they told me that they were encouraged by the message. As with any message I will ever give, my prayer is that God uses the message to change hearts and lives. Looking back, even as I write this, I am confident that I gave it my all and I honestly am not worried about my “performance”. Although I agree with the ten year old girl who came up to me afterwords and encouraged me by saying ” You know, you’ll make a good preacher someday!” Let’s hope I do.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. TheDeeZone says:

    Followed the tag Fairview Baptist Church here from a post I wrote about another Fairview Baptist. Interesting post.

Leave a Reply

