Coaching kids has taught me a lot about parenting.  Many people love their kids and are involved in their lives.  You can see how good it is for these kids to have parents who show up and are interested in them.  But coaching has also shown me that too many parents are more interested in their work than their kids.  Parents will often show up at the games and spend most of the time on their Bluetooth earpiece phone, pacing up and down behind the stands and missing what their kid is doing.  I’m not naïve enough to believe this kind of absentee parenting ends at Little League games.  What kind of adults will be made from kids who don’t think they are all that important to their parents?  What kind of job is worth alienating our kids?

read entire article.

This article from Steve Mckoy is timely and accurate. In our Bringing Up Boys class on Sunday, we spent a great deal of time talking about hindrances and obstacles keeping us from investing in our Children. There are so many things biding for our attention that two critical areas always seem to get left out. God and our family.

I shared with our class a piece of advice that I was given early on when I was just starting out in my business. In wanting to have a successful company and bring glory to my name, I was spending all my time and attention on my work and stressing about things that I couldn’t control. The homeowner whom I was working for, who I owe much of my success to, told me this ” If it will matter in a hundred years, then invest your time in it and do all you can for it. If it will not matter in a hundred years, do the best you can with it and move on.”

When applying this thinking to our relationships with God and with our family, we should be investing all that we can. John Piper quotes a poem that hung on a wall in his child hood home

Only one life,

‘Twill soon be past;

Only what’s done

For Christ will last

Are you fully invested? Be encouraged today to invest in your relationship with Him and with the family He has blessed you with.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

2 responses »

  1. Allen Taylor says:

    Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

  2. Thanks for linking to Steve’s article. He’s such a great writer.

Leave a Reply

