There is much truth in this video. It is a hard balance to stay out of the world while remaining relevant to the culture, especially with today’s youth. It is not popular to speak against fads and trends either, but how do you teach about the greatness of and need of exalting God when there are so many things that are given precedence in our churches that do not give glory to His name. So where is the line drawn when it comes to serving others?

Serving others means not causing others to fall. My earring was not hurting anyone nor was it helping anyone either. When someone asked me why I had an earring, my response was, “it’s something that I want, that I never was allowed to have, and it doesn’t change who I am.” I would even throw out Exodus 21: 5-6 where it says “if anyone loves his master, he shall pierce his ear on the doorpost…” as a justification.

That was until a great friend and mentor asked me that same question one day. After giving him my usual response, he said ” So, your earring is a sign of rebellion. How is that helping anybody?” I quickly discredited his comment, and we continued eating our meal talking of “other” things.

That one comment though, resonated with me all afternoon. I thought back to the time when I got the earring. Who I was as a person, where I was spiritually, and the real reason I got the earring in the first place; because I had never been allowed to. My motives were about me.

Needless to say, I haven’t wore an earring in 8 months. I still have the earring, but I am not that person anymore. Instead of having a token of rebellion, I have a personal reminder of from where God has brought me.

All of that to say, if we’re serving others, it’s not about us. It’s about dying to ourselves and giving of ourselves for the building up of the Kingdom. Look for areas of your life where you have not been dying to yourself, and ask God to change your heart and your thinking to the service of His people.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

