If it’s the sign of the times, then I’m really feeling old. I was doing some “culture research” this past week on MTV and caught a glimpse of this movie trailer. Needless to say, I am no longer disgusted, angry, or  offended by the stupid, banal, and immature movies and television shows marketed towards teenagers. Instead, I’m amazed.

I’m amazed that parents aren’t seeing these shows and movies for what they are and allowing their kids to watch them. I’m amazed that parents could care less what their kids are polluting their minds with. Oh, I’m sure there’s a “good” message somewhere amongst the garbage, but I guarantee it is overshadowed by the crude innuendos that seem to pilfer this movie.

What kids need are parents who will “model” Godly judgment and wisdom when it comes to issues like this. It’s not about sheltering them so that they are naive. It’s about all we’re doing, being done to the glory of God.

It is a difficult struggle for me as a youth pastor, not to get sucked in to this culture. I watch programs, listen to music, and read what your teens are reading, to try and be aware of what’s out there. If I’m not careful, the enemy uses that to tempt me as well. I can only imagine what it’s like for a teenager having to struggle with these issues, while trying to remain pure. Sadly, too many aren’t trying to be different in this culture or they have long given up on the possibility.

Want your kid to have a role model? Be one yourself. Let them see in you that being “salt and light” is a good thing.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. David says:

    Good post admin thanks for sharing ! 🙂 look at my new page hxxp://nichtmehr17.blogspot[com]

Leave a Reply

