Last night my wife and I headed out to the Third Day concert at the Johnny Mercer theatre in Savannah.

revive

Revive, a band from Australia, kicked things off with a three song set that warmed everybody up and got people in a mood for some great music. While their stage prescence was a little cheesy they did well and will probably have a good run at it.

need-to-breathe

Need to Breathe was up next, and their intro  was awesome. They came out with this bluesy song that reminded you of listening to an old black spiritual song from a century gone by, and it lead into some real blues style riffs that were great. I was really impressed with the different genre of styles they were capable of playing.  The highlight of the show for me was at the end. They asked for everyone to be quiet, they all unplugged their instruments came to the very front of the stage and did a song acoustic without any mic’s, amps, or wires. It was awesome being in a crowd with roughly 3000 people and you literally could hear a pin drop. I am definitely a fan now!

3rd-day

Last but not least, what can I say about my boys from Atlanta? They get better every time I see them. The quality of their shows is phenomenal. I was pleased that a had a great balance of old stuff and new stuff. My all time favorite of the night was their bluegrass version of “Consuming Fire”. They need to release a bluegrass album, that would be great!

If you ever have an opportunity to see these bands, don’t miss the opportunity. You will not regret it! My wife, who really doesn’t like these styles of music even said she had a great time! As for my baby girl in my wife’s belly? She was kickin all night!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

