A vague bad feeling that you are a crummy person is not the same as conviction for sin. Feeling rotten is not the same as repentance. – John Piper

These words have called for action in my prayer time this morning.  How often do we feel “bad” about the sins we commit, but are unrepentant of those sins. It is easy for us to be conscious of our sin, slap ourselves on the wrist and ask for forgiveness, until next time. The problem with me, and probably a few of you, is that “next time”.  It’s easy to speak to others about the dangers of this “cheap grace”, but I sometimes only equate the need to repent for the “big” sins not the insignificant ones.  The multitude of sins that I commit everyday would not be offensive to most, however they are in offense to the Most High.

 It is not enough to just feel bad about what we have done wrong, we must take action. When I begin to look at even the basic commands of Christ, I am guilty:

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, and mind …(Matthew 22:37)

Love your neighbor as yourself… (Matthew 22:39)

Cast all your anxieties on Him…( I Peter 5:7)

Rejoice in the Lord always…( Philippians 4:4)

I will quit before I dig the hole any deeper. To think that I thought these things were insignificant is also  a need to repent. Instead of feeling “bad” about how I am, I need to ask forgiveness for breaking His commands. I want to follow Paul’s instruction in Colossians 3:5 and “put to death” all of my earthly nature.

I am so greatful that we do have a God that “is faithful and just to forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (I John 1:9) I am amazed that He would pursue me in spite of my rebellion against Him, even rebellion in the “small things”.

Praise God from whom all blessings flow

Praise Him all Creatures here below

Praise Him all ye Heavenly Hosts

Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

