dscn0517My Pastor, who just so happens to be my father-in-law, is just that, a pastor. His heart is truly for the people. 24/7, he is always ready and available to be there for his flock no matter the need.  This proves difficult at times, because he is bi-vocational or what some might call a “part-time” pastor. I have never known this man to do anything part-time. Compared to other pastors I know, what makes my pastor unique is, pastoring is not a job for him. It is his calling. His outlook on the church is not one of trying to attain mega-church status nor does he approach the church as an administrator or operational manager. His passion is the people and their lives. So for that I am thankful. I am thankful that his concern is for our needs as both people and as Christians. I am also extremely thankful that he has taken me under his wing and is leading and guiding me in my calling as a pastor as well.

My church is what most would see as your average small church. However, we have many activities and dscn0046programs that most smaller churches don’t have. We offer a addiction support group, grief recovery, parenting classes as well as monthly outreach for families. What I love most about our church and what I am most thankful for is the closeness of our members and the family that we are. I am thankful for the concern that we have for each other and our focus to help those in need. I am thankful that at any time myself or my wife get tied up taking care of things around the church, our church family looks out for our son and he is always in capable hands. It is a privilege to belong to Fairview Baptist Church.

prayerI am thankful for my calling. I have been called to be a pastor as well. There is so much that goes into pastoring other than just preaching, and I am fortunate to have two great examples, in my father as well as my father in law.  I am thankful for God’s choosing me to be who I am and to entrust me with the care of His people. I have much to learn still, but am grateful for the opportunities that He has made available already to work and minister in the lives of those I come in contact with.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

