I have been following a blog from Zach Nielsen titled Take Your Vitamin Z, I highly recommend it for it’s content, music reviews,  and if your into jazz check out this video by his trio.

In his blog he writes of their recent journey and calling to adopt a precious little girl from Alabama. I am encouraged whenever I read stories such as theirs, who make the necessary sacrifices in order to give a child a home in a situation when otherwise there might not be one, much less a Christian home. So to the Nielsen’s I say  “Thank You”. Not only is it admirable but biblical as well ( James 1:27 ).

I would like to think the mother of this child as well. I do not know the situation from which this child comes but I am pleased to know that her mother made the right choice in having her( I know, let us not forget providence).

From his blog this morning is a quote from Chuck Colson and I would like to post a link to the article which shows some of the “choices” made by doctors who are “pro-choice”.

 The smartest thing “abortion rights” advocates ever did was to coin the phrase “pro-choice.” That shifted our attention towards the act of choosing and away from what was being chosen—the dismemberment of a human being in utero.

Eventually, however, at some point, “choice” has to go from mere rhetoric to an actual deed. Somebody has to actually perform an abortion if “freedom of choice” is to become a reality, as one medical student learned recently.  Read the article.

Ronald Reagan’s statement about abortion says it all for me.

” I’ve noticed that everybody that is for abortion has already been born.”

I don’t want to get into a debate about pro-choice or  pro-life. I want to express that I believe in life and the giver of life. I believe adoption to be a wonderful alternative to abortion. I believe that every life has a purpose and is ordained by God.

Maybe it’s because my wife is about to have a baby in four days. Maybe it’s because I have a three year old son that I love dearly. But it just may be that I believe that children are a heritage from the Lord (Psalm 127:3). While my wife and I have not had the opportunity or calling to adopt as of yet, we both have considered and left this to the Lord to show us when the time is right. For the Nielsen’s, their time is now, and they should be commended as well as all of the others who make the “choice” to make God’s children a part of their family.

364595man-s-hand-holding-baby-s-hand-posters

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

