new-yearI have never been one to make New Years resolutions because it has seemed pretty pointless to me. I attribute this thinking to my lack of self-discipline. I know beforehand that I will not see anything through long enough for it to become habit, so what’s the point?  I do however make goals for the year (which is a little like resolutions).  In my thinking of what I would like to achieve for ’09, I reflected on ’08 and reminisced about all that God has done for me just in ’08 alone:

New opportunities in ministry

Mission Trips

Personal Spiritual growth

An “assurance” in my calling

A stronger marital relationship

A better parent

A “new” dad againnew-year-reso

and I could go on, and on…

So for ’09, I would like to set my goals higher and try to attain them. I will attempt to list my most important:

Being the husband that my wife deserves ( I was blessed far more than I deserve in this category)

Being  ” The Dad” to Russell and Hannah (again I was blessed far more than I deserve)

Going after God and His calling like I never have before

Going about my daily routine and doing it ” To the Glory of God”

Looking at others through “Jesus Eyes”.

I know it’s a pretty big plate to fill and to attain it all will be through the grace of God. I pray that I will be more disciplined and focused to do all that I know to do in the upcoming year. My prayer also includes all of you; that you would pursue your relationship with Him in this upcoming year and be “available” to the  doors of opportunity He sets before you.

May God bless your new year with the hope of His calling for you!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

