ob-cy345_bible_d_20090113154623

President-elect Barack Obama will be sworn in today. My prayer for him is that he will be the best president that our country has had so far. I pray for his safety, I pray for his leadership and I pray that God will use him during his time here on earth.

When he is sworn in, he will be using the same Bible President Abraham Lincoln used to be sworn in with. Did you catch that, a BIBLE. Not the Koran or some other book. Does it mean anything? We’ll it does mean he sees some sort of importance in the bible, if nothing else than a historical tradition.

Obama professes to be a believer in Jesus Christ. We can only pray that it is so. The fact that some of his past decisions and statements seem to be anti-Christian or that they go against God  in some fashion, is disheartening, but can we really judge his salvation based on these things alone?

Paul tells us in Philippians 2:12 to  “work out your own salvation with fear and trembling” (ESV), so we are bearing evidence of our salvation through our actions, words, and general behavior. (Please do not misinterpret Scripture and think that your salvation is based on your works alone.) Based on this criteria, where does Obama fit? Where do any of us fit? There have many times when my actions, words, and behavior have been contrary to God’s word. Am I not a believer?

I am fallen. So is Obama and so are you! But for the grace of God are you and I still here on this earth. And because we are here we have been given a role by God to fulfill. Let us pray for our president, that  his actions, words, and behavior reflect his salvation and that he would lead this country in manner that is pleasing to God. While we’re at it we need to pray the same thing for ourselves!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

2 responses »

  1. morsec0de says:

    “The fact that some of his past decisions and statements seem to be anti-Christian or that they go against God in some fashion, is disheartening, but can we really judge his salvation based on these things alone?”

    If you wish to be fair, some of his past decisions and statements seem to be anti- a specific type of Christian, and against certain interpretations of a god. There are millions of Christians around the world who agree with Obama on his opinions, both secular and religious.

    Now, if you want to call millions of Americans who identify as Christians ‘anti-Christian’, that’s your prerogative.

  2. Mona Jones says:

    I agree whole heartedly with your opinion of soon to be president Obama. It does not matter what we think of a leader, God in His word, tells us to pray for them. Also, the last sentence about praying for oneself, is something that I have practiced for years. I believe that whatever I pray for a person I don’t necessarily like, I should pray for myself. That way, I know that I am praying correctly for the other person.

Leave a Reply

