miley-cyrusMiley Cyrus doesn’t like to admit it, but she’s bothered by people who think there’s something wrong with the bond between her and her dad, singer Billy Ray Cyrus.

“The media has said some stuff about my dad and me being too close and too cuddly for a father and a daughter,” the 16-year-old actress-singer writes in “Miles to Go,” a new memoir. “For me and my dad it’s not weird at all.”

Read the article.

A sign of the culture we live in. A time when having a relationship with  your daughter is seen as “weird”. Maybe if more time were spent on building a healthy relationship with their daughters, we would have lower teen pregnancy rates, girls with self confidence and self acceptance, and girls with a proper view of what men are supposed to be.

I am not a fan of the Cyrus’ and I think there have been some poor judgments on their part in the past, but kudos to Billy Ray for investing his time in building a relationship with his daughter.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. Mona says:

    Speaking as a daughter, on of the most important relationships a girl can have is with her dad. By the way he treats her she will learn how other men should treat her, hopefully, it will be positive. I can remember telling people who tended to get a little rowdy that my dad never cursed at me or beat me and no one else would either. Even though we have our problems I can honestly say that my dad taught me that I was a worthy person. If a person did not have that from an earthly father, they can still receive it from our heavenly Father. After all, He is the perfect DAD.

Leave a Reply

