This is a guest post from my father, Charles Mullis Sr.

star14I found myself humming a familiar tune while listening to our president as he addressed the congress this past Tuesday evening. As he ended I began to sing out loud, “When you wish upon a star…”. Though this was Walt Disney’s theme song I am afraid it will become President Obama’s as well. I write this because the gentleman is living in a fantasy world.

If I heard the man correctly he is proposing to spend trillions (That’s a number with twelve 0’s behind it) this year alone, not raise taxes for 95% of us, give us health care, improve our schools, continue the fight against terrorism and in four years have half of it paid off. He will do this in the midst of a deep recession where the stock market has dropped to half of where it was a year ago, banks are collapsing, hundred year old companies are folding and unemployment is at 8.1% and rising. He doesn’t need wishing he needs a miracle.

The Biblical definition of a miracle is the suspension or superseding of the laws of nature. Moses did this when he parted the Red Sea, Elisha raised the dead and Jesus walked on the water, calmed the seas with a word, gave sight to the blind and exhibited a host of other miracles. Well, forgive me but President Obama is no Moses. However if he pulls off what he proposed on Tuesday he will indeed have performed a miracle of Biblical proportions.

I am a the owner of a small business and have gone down to nothing twice. Ups and downs are apart of the free enterprise system we are suppose to be operating under. My president is telling me that he can suspend the natural laws of economics and walk on water. Sorry, but he is not a supernatural deliverer. There isn’t but one of those and he hasn’t been here physically for two thousand years. And though I believe he will return I do not believe it will be in the form of Barak Obama.

As a Christian I am under the directive of holy writ to pray for this man and I do. I am praying for a miracle. Not that he will succeed but rather that he comes to his senses and realizes what he is doing to the future of our free enterprise system. I ask God to fill him with the knowledge of His will so that he will conduct himself in a manner that is worthy of the calling God has allowed him to experience by placing him in authority over the United States of America. (Colossians 1:9-12)

 As I close this I have decided to sing my own theme song, “God bless America, land that I love…”

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. Mona Jones says:

    AMEN!!!

Leave a Reply

