beer

From Out of Ur:

Some younger pastors in traditionally teetotalling denominations are beginning to view bans on alcohol use as out of date. Is their so-called liberty in Christ simply an excuse for bad behavior? Or are the old timers adding laws to the gospel?

Mark Driscoll has thought the issue through (probably because the Pacific Northwest has more breweries than people) and argues that responsible alcohol use is thoroughly biblical.

John Piper disagrees. “I choose to oppose the carnage of alcohol abuse by boycotting the product. Is it really so prudish to renounce a highway killer, a home destroyer, and a business wrecker?”

Hmmmm… The comments at this blog site are quite interesting. Check out this video as well.

 

Is drinking a sin? Paul says that” all things are lawful but not all things are profitable.”

Why is this an issue for Christians? I believe it to be an issue because it’s a heart issue at its core. Those who try to justify drinking, obviously have a conviction that drinking is wrong. If you had no conviction about drinking, it wouldn’t be an issue, and you would not think anything of what people “thought” about you for drinking.

The real question for most believers who try to justify their drinking, is, “what can I still do, that is what I want to do and still be considered “holy” or “righteous”?” We often try to see how much worldliness we can hold onto, and still be considered “Christian”.

Is drinking a sin? Is it really an issue? I am more concerned about the individuals who try to justify their “freedoms” because it shows that God is not at the center of their life like He needs to be.

My prayer for this issue is that God will be made prominent in our lives and that an issue such as whether “drinking is a sin or not”, will be replaced with issues like ” How can I tell more people about Christ?”

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

2 responses »

  1. davesiverns says:

    Interesting post. I’ve thought a fair amount about this, having spent 4 years at a Christian school where no drinking was allowed and many students fought and broke that rule.

    I’d agree that the issue comes down to the heart, though I find myself now in a place where I have no problem enjoying an occasional glass of wine or beer. Ironically, many of my friends have more respect for alcohol and me and my beliefs because they can see someone enjoying it without abusing it. I certainly wouldn’t hesitate to give it up if I could see that it was hindering someone in their walk, but I find it interesting that it may actually be helping others in my life see God in a different light. Just a thought.

  2. Mona Jones says:

    I have to respectfully disagree with those who condone the use of alcohol. I know the bible tells us that “a little wine does the stomach good”. The operative word here is little.

    Now, a little is good and some use it medicinally. However, how am I to know when I go in a liquor store that a non christian or weak christian will not see me. If they do, will they not think that I am a hypocrite? Personally, I cannot take that chance. Even if it is an excuse for some to reject church and Christ, I refuse to be used like that.

    Another thought, if I can have a few drinks and let it go at that, fine. What about the person in my group that does not stop at the few drinks shared with friends. He/she continues to drink when they get home (or even before) and abuse a loved one, spend grocery money on booze, or perhaps kills or maimes a stranger because of impaired driving. There are just too many negatives for me to even consider the folly of alcohol.

Leave a Reply

