lost-and-found_bookIhave been reading Ed Stetzer’s new book “Lost and Found”. You can read more reviews about this book at Ed’s site.

One of the things I love most about Ed’s writing (books, blogs, tweets,etc) is that he does so commonly and directly. I am amazed of his multi-tasking abilities and am glad that I don’t have his schedule.

In his newest book, “Lost and Found”, Ed reveals statistics from my generation and their view of the church.

 You can view a PDF version of these statistics if you like, but here are the few that stand out to me the most:

I don’t think my lifestyle would be accepted at most christian churches

Age 20-29 – 39%

Age 30+  – 30%

I believe I can have a good relationship with God without being involved with the church

Age 20-29 – 90%

Age 30+ – 88%

Christians get on my nerves

Age 20-29 – 46%

Age 30+ – 44%

It looks as though we have some work to do brothers. I would have to agree with a lot of the statements that were polled, myself.

What can we do to change this though? We need change we can believe in!(sorry, bad joke). What is the remedy?

Authenticity? Contextualization? Strategy? Transparency?

Yes, yes, yes, and yes. We need to take the Great Commission seriously and make disciples “as we are going”.  This is a need that is missing from the church and I am to blame. 

Change starts from within and it will start with me…

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

