newlywedIf you don’t read StuffChristiansLike then you don’t know what your missing. Jon Acuff spats out some ridicuously funny stuff but poignantly true in tongue in cheek form. Here’s a great example:

Sure, my wife and I went to pre-marital counseling. Are you kidding? We wanted to start our marriage on a solid foundation of communication and respect and love. It was great working with that counselor to really understand the differences we bring to this relationship and how God can use those to create oneness in our hearts and our home. That’s just what you do before you get married. Every Christian knows pre-marital counseling is critical. Post marital counseling? Is that what you’re suggesting we do? Who told you our marriage was in trouble? It was Frank, wasn’t it? Ugh, that Frank. Plank in his eyeball! Our marriage is fine. We’re happy, things are great. Sure we have ups and downs like any marriage but unless my wife has had an affair, secretly developed a secret credit card debt or has some sort of weird willow tree figurine habit that I don’t know about, I don’t think we need to go to post marital counseling. We don’t need maintenance. The principles we learned during pre-marital counseling became magically cemented in our souls when we put our rings on in front of friends and family members. Those lessons we learned had a 60 year guarantee. I feel like our pre-marital counselor might have mentioned that we needed to continually work on the strength of our marriage and nurture our love continually with a great degree of intentionality, but it’s weird because as soon as we got married, those things just naturally started happening without any discernible effort on my part. Pretty cool, right? And plus, everyone knows post marital counseling is the last stop on the “your marriage sucks” train line. It’s where you go when your house is on fire, or there’s some sort of relational komodo dragon that’s come between you and your wife. It’s not somewhere you go for a tune up. I wouldn’t even know who to ask to find a counselor. The minute I did, people at church would whisper about us and pray for us because they’d know things were dire. Nope, I’m good. I did all the learning I needed to do before the wedding ceremony. After the ceremony it was time for living. See that? That was alliteration. Learning vs. Living. How could I possibly need counseling when I’m able to alliterate at that level? If anything I should be giving other people counseling, in how to be awesome.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. davis says:

    after reading about how Gov. Mark Sanford went through something like this with his wife WHILE he was cheating, I have a little less faith now

Leave a Reply

