From ChristianWeek.com an article by Mags Story:

mike robertsThe extravagant wealth and power former gang member Michael “Bull” Roberts had as one of Canada’s wealthiest drug lords reads likes a fantasy. But the road which led him there is the stuff of nightmares…

“I became one of the wealthiest drug lords in Canada,” he says. “I had stables, boats and every kind of ride you could think of. I was distributing cocaine and crack all over Alberta. I was turning over millions of dollars a week.”

But last summer, a partner sent 30 men to kill him. After a cruel beating, Roberts was left for dead, his knees, legs, arms, hands and skull broken. Permanent spinal cord damage means he still walks with a cane.

After his gang ties prompted a release from hospital, Roberts found himself alone in a hotel room facing the news his home had been burned to the ground.

“All I wanted was revenge,” Roberts says. “But I was so broken I couldn’t even get myself to the bathroom. I fell on the floor and [wet] myself. I spent hours there. I was in extreme physical pain and emotionally spent…

“That was my breaking point. I just snapped. I just couldn’t fight no more. I looked up at God and said, ‘Fine! You win! I’m done!’

“I just kept praying to Him out of anger, and the next thing I knew I was asking for forgiveness. I said, ‘Please, God I just want to feel love!’ I just burst into tears. I cried for hours on that floor.

“I really feel like God came into the room that day. I really felt like I was forgiven. I told Him I’d give my life to Him. I’d let Him run it His way.”

But how will they hear unless we tell them?   Does this mean that we don’t have to evangelize? Did someone plant a “seed” in his life? 

How do we know the elect? We don’t. We need to do like Spurgeon suggest and go around lifting coatails to see who has the stripe down their back. BY that he means evangelize. Our responsibility is to not determine who is elect per se but to tell them the gospel truth so they will know. And even if we don’t reach every individual with the “good news”, God sovreignly pursues HIS children.It’s the age old debate that will not be settled until we reach home, but regardless it is amazing to see God work in the lives of His people.  Was Michael Roberts chosen before the foundation of the world? How about you?

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

4 responses »

  1. slamdunk says:

    Well said–much work to do and few workers willing to contribute.

  2. Jessica says:

    Hey Michael,
    i saw your show today d and it really touched me. I am only 12 but it really struck me how hard some peoples lives can be and how you can lean on god for help and how you know your always loved by god.

    About three years ago my parents split up and alot of thigns have happened. We have moved alot of times and now i live with my grandparents and i don’t like living here. My parents faught all the time and alot of other realy bad things have happened but i don’t really want to talk about it. Me and my mom don’t get along as well and we used to and i have alot of anger and i have alot of regrets. After I saw your show i realized how god can forgive me for my mistakes and I can restart my life. You really opened up my eyes and I want to thank you for that. I thought my life was bad, but now i realize how it can be worse. Even tho i live with my grandparents, it could be worse. At least i have a roof over my head. and I want to thank you for showing me that. Sometimes you just have to make the best of what you have and thats what you have shown me to do.

    So, I just wanted to say again thank you, and your in my prayers.

  3. Rachel Lutz says:

    hey mike it is sharon. I am not sure if u remember me. I am Sandy friend. I bought your book and had u sign it. You have been on my heart lately. I just want to encourage u to keep up your street ministry. Here is my email address cus i would like to donate regularly to your ministry but dont know where to send the money. my email is christiansolider2004@hotmail.com ok please send me an email with info ok. God bless u brother.

Leave a Reply

