I have mixed feelings about Francis Chan. Is he for real? Can someone “get it” so right? Can somebody be in love with God so much they really lay everthing down and live 100% for Him? I download his podcast and listen to him speak, and I want to discredit him quickly because he seems almost cheesy in his awe of God. I guess the hard truth is, I’m jealous. Not of his position or his opportunities, but of his love for God. I want to love God like that.

 When his book Crazy Love came out, I thought ” Great another ‘bestseller’ for the marketing gurus to shove down our throats”. (Sounds pretty cynical huh?) So in my typical reblious attitude I refused to purchase the book. I didn’t need to read it because I am well above that kind of book. I need a deep theological book to grasp my attention, not some cotton candy, feel good, everything’s going to be alright book like CRAZY LOVE

 Then it happpened. Tim Challies posted on his site last month where you could get the audio book “Crazy Love” for free. I thought, “Well, I’ll pay that much for it.” SO I went and downloaded it and added it to the rotation in my MP3 player. (Notice I didn’t say iPod. I’m not a complete sellout!)

All I can say is … Humbling, authentic and embarassing.

Humbling because I was totally wrong about the book and its content. Authentic because Chan possesses the lifestyle he challenges us to live by. Embarassing because I should have the same type of heart and love that the book talks about, but I’m still striving to be the man God has called me to be.

Chan has a new book coming out soon called “Forgotten God”… and no, I’m not going to read it. I need a deeper theological book to grasp my mind around, not some cheesy, cotton candy… wait a minute, this is my man Francis we’re talking about he doesn’t write those types of books!

If you don’t know who Francis Chan is, you would do well to aquaint yourself with him, you’ll be sucked in too.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. slamdunk says:

    Thanks for the introduction to Francis Chan–I was not familiar with him.

Leave a Reply

