I was reminded of something this week… I am safe, I am comfortable, and I am complacent.

Monday of this week I had to leave South Georgia and head to the big city of Atlanta. Make that the country of Atlanta, because it really doesn’t fit what comes to mind when you think of Georgia. With the melting pot of ethnicities and cultures, depending on where you’re going, it’s almost as if you are visiting a different country.

As I was driving into the city and the downtown skyline came into view, a flood of memories came to mind of the two years I spent living in Atlanta.

As I contemplated those times versus now, 8 years later, I do not wish to revisit those times or who I was during that period of my life. I am much different now. Then, I had no vision, no goal, and essentially no purpose. I was not happy with who I was and cared little for how people perceived me. Now I do have goals  and a purpose for living daily. My vision, albeit not clear, it is more defined. I am still not happy with who I am but now it is for a different reason.

As that familiar skyline approached I tried to decipher what the biggest difference in my life is now than what it was 8 years ago.

Simple. I have a relationship.

This may seem odd because I have been a Christian for 26 years. This also may seem odd because I’ve been married for almost 11 years.

But 2 very significant changes have happened over the last 8 years. I’ve come into the relationship during this time. I’ve become proactive. I’ve quit living for myself and started living for the One who called me. I also quit living for myself in my marriage. I discovered true happiness was loving my wife like Christ loves the church. When I give of myself for her sake I am truly who I need to be.

And through all this reflection I  realized that I have become comfortable where I am. It’s time to step beyond my comfort zone and put my faith to the test.  I want to look back in the next 8 years and discover that who I am now is not who I want to be then.

I want to be more like Christ!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. slamdunk says:

    Thanks for sharing your honesty Chuck.

    “I discovered true happiness was loving my wife like Christ loves the church.” Excellent!

Leave a Reply

