And there he goes. Joshua is off for his very first first day of school. And I’m trying to hold it together.

Both Jana and I though we wouldn’t be “those” parents. But guess what? We are them. Big time. Those parents that cry when their kid steps into the classroom. Those parents who sit by the phone during the morning in case they get a call from the administration. Those parents who can’t believe that six years has already come and gone.

Along with the first day of school, there come alot of questions at least in my mind:

Is he prepared for the challenges of being in the world, but not being of the world?

How will he handle the fact that not everybody he meets is going to be nice to him?

Did we make the right choice in choosing public school over home or private school?

How is this experience going to change him and our family?

How long is it going to be before he is simply too cool for all the things he used to do?

Keep reading.

This hits a little too close to home for me. In just over a week, we will be sending our son into the great “unknown”. I remember when we put him in preschool for a short time when he was three, and he hoped out of my worktruck, said  “bye dad” and never looked back.I remember the devastation I felt. How could he leave me?

I hope  it’s not like that this time. When I walked into the school for the first time, peace came over me and I realized that this school was were God wanted our son to begin his next phase in life as well as the next phase in our life. That eases the pain some. I still don’t like the idea of him growing up though.

HT: Michael Kelley

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

