In light of my recent situation and in my complaining to God, I have been humbled once again.

Last night as I watched Evan Almighty on TV, there is a scene where Evan is conversing with God about the ark that God wants him to build. Evan relays to God that he doesn’t have time to build an ark because it doesn’t fit into his plans. He has to focus on his career, his family, and his future. God’s response to this is a deep, hearty belly laugh, as he mimics “your plans!”

Even as I write I am smiling , because through this whole move and life change, things are not going according to what I have planned. I am frustrated, angry, bitter, and a few other adjectives about how things seem to happen to go the exact opposite than what I thought. And I am smiling because, through all this, God is having a deep,hearty belly laugh, mimicking me with “your plans!”

I am not here for me. I can do nothing on my own. It’s amazing how quickly I forget that.

Thank you Father, for working Your plans out in front of me and allowing me to be a part of them!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

2 responses »

  1. robin easter says:

    I just want you and Valerie to know we are praying for you always. I know the lord has placed you in front of a mountain. I also know through our faith that mountain can be and Will be moved. Love in Christ Jesus, Robin aka lady with oxygen from Ruffin Stacey Baptist Church. We look forward to seeing you all again and helping in any way we can. Chuck do you have a need? If so, let me know I have a wonderful church.

  2. Dad says:

    Frustration is the fuel you burn on the road to discovering His plan. Burning fuel moves you, has exhaust fumes, and requires resources all of which you are experiencing. Since He works “all things” together just remember that as His child you are always on time and on target in His plan.
    Praying for you all, all the time.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

