When my brother-in-law and I were working together a few years ago, we often would amuse ourselves by quoting movies or music.  Now I don’t watch many movies or listen to much music, so my arsenal of movie quotes are regulated to the Princess Bride and Blazing Saddles. That being said, I wish I had known of the guidelines to movie quoting. I have butchered many opportunities and have become “that guy” who trails off when he doesn’t know the rest.

Tyler Stanton has come up with an essential guideline to movie quoting.   Here are my favorites:

1. Watch your ratio.
I religiously adhere to a 40-to-1 non-movie-quote-to-movie-quote ratio, and I think you should too. This is to prevent us from becoming the guy at a party who views every pause in a conversation as an opportunity to show off his knowledge of the Dumb and Dumber script. As Mark Twain once said, “Movie quotes should pepper your conversation, not make your conversation taste like you’ve just sucked on a pepper tablet.”

4. Variety is key.
The last thing you want is to be labeled the “Napoleon Dynamite Guy”. Don’t get me wrong – it was a great movie. But not all contexts call for a socially awkward “Luck-eee!”

6. Christopher Walken is sacred ground.
As a friend, I would advise you to stay away from this one. It takes a skilled and masterful impersonator to pull off something that even resembles Walken. So if that’s not you, show some respect and keep yours between you and your rearview mirror. If you can pull it off, I would suggest possibly making that your normal, everyday voice.

Go to Tyler’s site to view the whole list and you too can become a well-oiled movie quoting machine!

“Hasta la Vista… Baby!”

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. Slamdunk says:

    This is one skill that I need to sharpen. Well I guess I need to develop it before I can sharpen it.

Leave a Reply

