Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life,which God has promised to those who love him. – James 1:12 ESV

Trial, temptation, or test. However your Bible translates this original Greek word, peirasmos, it means a trial with a beneficial purpose or effect.

I don’t know about you but there seems to be a “trial” lurking behind every corner these days.  I remember being 18 and thinking, “when I get older, I won’t have to deal with these things(trials). I’ll know how to handle them and I’ll for once in my life be truly happy.” If I could approach my former self now, I think that I would give my self a good “dope” slap and warn myself of the things to come.

The funny thing about the trials we go through,is that they determine who we become. We will have to deal with whatever trial comes our way, and based upon how we handle that trial will determine the consequences either good or bad.  However the consequences or results of each trial do not determine our happiness. It’s how we endure the trial. Read the verse again:

Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life,which God has promised to those who love him.

It says we are blessed or happy when we remain steadfast, or when we endure the trial.  Happiness comes for those who fight the fight. Those who never enter the battle can never experience victory. But those who stay in the battle and see it through, have the promise of completion in Christ Jesus.

Happiness does not come from never having any trials, but it comes from victory over them. I often use the old adage “My happiness is not based on my circumstances, but on my relationship with the Lord.”  We don’t have to like or be happy with whatever circumstance or trial we find ourself in, but we can be happy because we have the promise that the trial is not going to overcome those of us that are in a relationship with the Lord.

“No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

Whatever trial,temptation,or testing that you are facing today, endure it with the confidence that you will overcome because Christ has overcome the world.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

