I use social media. Not as much as some people but more than others. I’m not a real big fan of Facebook, but I like Twitter alot. I haven’t got into foursguare and thank the Lord the days of Myspace and Xanga are behind me.  I enjoy the ability to use social media outlets and I think it’s a cool way to keep in touch with everybody, but it is way too easy to get caught up in your status profile and become more obsessed with yourself and everybody else. In fact social media has made it acceptable to be “in errbody’s bizzness” and to gossip about what you read on someone else’s page or tweet.

I came across this article this morning as a google alert  (gotta love google alerts!) and as I read the list of do’s and don’ts for pastors using social media, it got me thinking that these rules could easily be applied to all Christians.

This article is by Steve Cornell and you can check out his blog Thinkpoint where he has a lot of interesting articles especially the one on narcissism in leadership. This article is about when pastors update and tweet:

Social networks are the way people connect and communicate. But how should Pastors use networks like Facebook and Twitter? Since the words of leaders carry more weight, they should be weighed more carefully. Consider some Do’s and Don’ts for pastors:

Seven Do’s

  1. Announce events and teaching themes
  2. Link to helpful resources
  3. Encourage others

keep reading

Seven Don’ts

  1. Post anything that you would fear being read at Church
  2. Engage ongoing conversations with the opposite sex
  3. Fish for affirmations or support

keep reading

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

