I found this quote this morning on Cruciform Quotes.

…The church, as we all know, can be a very messy place. After all, it’s full of sinners! Each and every one of us are real people with real and often inconvenient problems. We may be tempted to grumble when our efforts to serve get tangled up in the mess, but a life without messiness and inconvenience is a life without true service. God is calling us to serve despite our inconvenience and discomfort, because his top priority is the glory he will receive as our lives become more and more conformed to his image. He wants to do real work in the church–through us–to help clean up the mess that is our collective sin. – Nate Palmer  in Servanthood as Worship

I love the church. 10 years ago, I could not say this. 10 years ago I would have said “I like the church, somewhat.” 15 years ago I said “I don’t need the church”. 20 years ago I didn’t have an opinion, I got up and went to church because that’s what we did.

What is it about the Church that drives people away. Why is the church of our grandfathers(1950-1970), or even our fathers (1970-1990), disconnected with not only this generation but my generation as well. Why does the seeker model church of the 90’s fail to meet the seekers of the 2000’s? Why is the post modern church of the 21st century no longer working in the beginning of its second decade?

I don’t know, but as I said I love the church, and I want others to love the church. I’m not talking about buildings or programs, I’m talking about people – the body of Christ.

Over the next few weeks, I will be reading through Swindoll’s book, The Church Awakening. In his Introduction he states that he has written the book for primarily two groups of people:

1. Serious churchgoers who know there is a better way[ to do church].

2. Pastors, who need a voice of permission to buck the tide and to put the preaching of the Word of God back in its central place of the church’s worship.

Over the next few weeks as I read Swindoll’s work  on the Church, I plan to  discuss and ask questions, and I need your input.  Will you join me?

Question #1 – What do you love about the church?

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

2 responses »

  1. Not sure if you pulled this quote from my blog or not–but it should be attributed to: Nate Palmer, instead of Greg Lucas. My apologies if this was my error.

  2. Chuck Mullis says:

    I did pull it from your blog. thanks for letting me know, and I’m sorry I did not link to your blog as well! I’ll make the corrections. thanks!

Leave a Reply

