Hailing from the great state of F-L-A, we didn’t have many snow days growing up. Hurricane days, certainly but never snow days. So imagine my delight when we get a call @ 9:30 pm Sunday night informing us that classes had been canceled for Monday due to inclement weather. Where I come from, inclement weather meant a tropical depression, not 6-8 inches of snow. When I relayed the information to my son, who is only in kindergarten, you would of thought I told him we were taking him to Disney World (where he’s never been, but I keep getting pressured to take him).

Monday morning might as well had been Christmas day. The kids were up at first light, begging to go out side. Even our 2 year old was excited even though she hadn’t even seen the snow yet.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Monday evening we got another call from the school- no school for Tuesday either. My son spent the evening mapping out his Tuesday.

Now it’s Tuesday evening and we’re getting things in gear for tomorrow and the phone rings. My son cannot believe his good fortune and I can’t believe they’re  canceling school again.

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. Dad says:

    Keep making the memories!

Leave a Reply

