G.K. Chesterton was a literary giant of his age. With an exceptional intellect, he wrote about history, politics, economics, philosophy,social and literacy criticism, and theology. He published essays, novels,biographies, short stories, and poetry, and the Christian classics Heretics, Orthodoxy, and The Everlasting Man, which C.S. Lewis credits as Instrumental in his conversion to Christianity. – an excerpt from the back cover of The Quotable Chesterton

Have you heard of G. K. Chesterton? I had. I have heard people quote him for years and have heard a lot of pastors that I like reference his work but I really had no clue as to who he was.

If you’re like me and you don’t know about him or his work, Kevin Belmonte has put together a collection of Chesterton’s most memorable and thought-provoking quotes as well as some short essays thrown in for good measure. While this isn’t a biography, the quotes and short essays are a window that allows you to observe how remarkably witty and intellectual Chesterton was.

What I like most about The Quotable Chesterton is that it has a good variety of topics to choose from. Whether its academia, business, culture, entertainment or religious,  a quote can be found to fit your needs.  I found myself intrigued by the wit and wisdom of this man who lived so long ago but was amazed at the relevance his insight has on today’s culture.

Whether you are a pastor, public speaker, educator or lover of literature, The Quotable Chesterton is a valuable resource to add to your library.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson as part of their BookSneeze program.I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

