Pujols: More Than a Game is more than a story of  Alberto Pujols rise to fame in the St. Louis Cardinals franchise. It’s the story of who  Jose Alberto Pujols is as a man, an athlete, a humanitarian, a philanthropist and all around great guy. From his humble beginnings in the Dominican Republic to his multi-million dollar contract years playing America’s favorite pastime, More Than a Game gives you the story that doesn’t get told on ESPN Sportscenter.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I began reading this book. I’m not  a St. Louis Cardinals fan and to tell the truth I’m not even that big a fan of baseball. But I am interested in stories of character, integrity, and humility. A few years ago I heard an interview on Focus on the Family with Albert and Dede Pujols. What he had to say there and what he professed as a believer, made me sit up and listen. So I was intrigued to read this book.

This book is basically just an overview of who Albert is.  If you like baseball and statistics and need a role model to look up to, this book provides just enough information to wet your appetite. I would have liked more information on where he came from and how he got to the U.S. instead of all of the space spent on baseball statistics.  I wish there were more details in the development of his relationship with his wife and kids.  I would like to know how to be involved with his foundations and charities. This book does however explain and focus on Who has blessed Pujols with his talent and his willingness and eagerness to share Christ with others.

If you’re a baseball fan, a Cards fan, or just interested in Pujols himself,  this book will give you a glance at all three.

 

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

 

 

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

