We Big Big, The Mostly True Story of How Two kids from Calhoun County, Alabama Became RICK & BUBBA. Whew. That is the longest title for a book but the content makes up for it. We Be Big is the account of how radio personalities Rick & Bubba  began, their rise to fame, their low moments, their struggles, and their success.

Honestly I’m not a fan of morning shows on the radio.  I have listened to John Boy & Billy, Lex & Terry, Bob & Sheri, and to be honest it always seems to be trivial or trash. Had the Rick & Bubba show played in an area that I lived I might have tried them out and became a loyal listener. I know I definitely would have after reading this book. Their insights into why things happened to them in their career  go far beyond what the average reader may expect which points the reader to the source of their success, God.

This book is quite humorous, entertaining and interesting, and finds a balance that most memoirs lack. They give you enough information to tell their story without bogging you down with so much information that you lose track of the bigger story.

I was intrigued by their honesty in the admission of their faults and failures as well as their honesty in giving God the credit for the progression of events that has led them to the success that they have had.

We Be Big is a great read for lovers of the show as well as those who aren’t familiar with the show. The triumphs as well as the tragedies grip the reader and satisfies them with an account that leaves the door open for a sequel to their story without leaving them hanging.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. slamdunk says:

    I am a fan of reading biographies like this one–there is always room to learn from mistakes/shortcomings.

Leave a Reply

