One of the things that ceases to amaze me is the way that my wife can handle all that she does. The other thing that ceases to amaze me is that she doesn’t complain about all of the things that she has to handle. I take it for granted some times that the stuff that gets done around the house and with the kids is just a simple matter of fact task. It is not. It is harder than most of my construction tasks. I don’t know how I could do anything without her.

I was reminded of that this weekend as we were being commissioned as missionaries for the North American Mission Board.

We have a ministry. I am almost always out front and I am the one that people see and respond to the most, but She is my backbone! Without her I would not be free to do what I do and I want to find more ways to put her out front so that she can minister better to people  and they can in turn learn from her.

If you’re a pastor, minister, chaplain, or missionary, kiss your wife and let her know how much you appreciate and depend on her. You know you couldn’t do it without her!

Here is an article I came across and recommend that everyone read in order to get a glimpse of just a few of the things that a Pastor’s wife goes through:

One of the most important and most overlooked people in a church is the pastor’s wife. She is usually not on the organizational chart, does not have a formal job title or job description, and is an unpaid volunteer. But her ministry can make or break her family and church… In a few mainly prosperity-oriented, religious-type churches, the pastor’s wife is treated as the first lady, with an over-the-top amount of power and deference. However, in most small churches, the pastor’s wife is treated as the last lady, with an over-the-top lack of love and consideration. As a result, she’s the last lady to sit down for a church meal because she’s in the kitchen, the last one to make it in to hear her husband’s sermon because she’s getting hen-pecked by the needy and religious women, the last person to get help when she’s in need because she’s busy looking after everyone else, and the last person to get her husband’s undivided attention because his phone is always ringing with someone who has randomly decided they are more important than her.

Keep reading.

Source: Resurgence

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

