Have you ever wondered why bad things happen to good people? It is a question that I get asked most often by people from all walks of life. There have been times in my own life where I have wondered the same thing. The question is not new but the answer hardly ever satisfies.

I received the book “If God, Why Evil” from Bethany House publishers without much expectation on satisfying the answer to the question of evil in God’s world.  I must say that I was pleasantly surprised.

From the introduction to the appendixes this book answers some of the most difficult questions raised in the arena of why God allows evil to happen within His creation. It answers objections from atheists, agnostics, pagans and Christians in a clear and definitive way.

Most books that I have read on this subject, required a dictionary and some understanding of theology, but Norman Geisler has written this book with the layman in mind.  I was amazed and relieved that the questions on evil that are discussed in the  book were so simply written that I will gladly use this book as a resource to help others in the area of understanding why God allows evil to be present in this world.

I have read a few books by Norman Geisler before but by far this book has made the most impact on me because I have found answers to the hard questions. I highly recommend it to those searching for answers to the hard questions of life or for those helping others that are struggling through difficult times!

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a review. All opinions expressed are my own and have not been solicited by the publisher.

 

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

