Are you sick of paying so much for gas? I am. Currently here in North Carolina the average is $3.63 a galllon. I have been told to not complain because over in Europe they are paying the equivalent of $8-10 dollars per gallon. Well, if I lived in Europe I would complain about it there too.  That is just another reason why I choose to live in the states instead of Europe, who wants to trade currency in pounds anyway?

I came across this article on Monday and I thought it was most intriguing. I have heard all of these excuses, er I mean myths, and I wondered if there was any validity to them? Turns out that Robert Rapier is the chief technology officer of Merica International, a privately-owned renewable energy company, and writes for Consumer Energy Report and it doesn’t appear that he benefits from cheap gas so to me it gives a little more credibility to his article.

Here are the myths:

1. Fighting in Libya is sending gas prices higher.

2. Tapping the Strategic Petroleum Reserve is a smart way to reduce gas prices.

3. Oil companies produce less in the spring to make gas prices increase.

4. The Obama administration is driving up gas prices.

5. Americans can’t live without cheap gas.

It’s worth your time to go to the Washington Post website and see the answers to these myths. I’m still skeptical about a few of these but Robert Rapier makes some valid claims. What do you think?

Source: Challies

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

