I was alerted to this article yesterday and the implication was that as Christians we should boycott the Girl Scouts. Read an  excerpt  of the article and decide for yourself.

Sharon Slater, a mother of seven, innocently walked into a panel sponsored by the Girl Scouts USA at the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women a few weeks ago. Almost immediately she was asked to leave. All non-Scout adults were kicked out of the room, which was packed with adolescent girls.

Her curiosity piqued, Slater lingered by the door and when the panel ended she went immediately back inside to look around. What she found has shocked her and shocked Girl Scout moms around the country. Slater found a stack of brochures produced by Planned Parenthood called “Healthy, Happy and Hot” that among other things explained to the girls, “Some people have sex when they have been drinking or using drugs. That is your choice.”

Looks like there’s a new merit badge to earn as a girl scout.

While I find the article mentioned above repulsive and incredulous, I must say that in no way am I surprised. But my question is, “As Christians should we boycott the Girl Scouts?”

How does boycotting the Girl Scouts prove anything.The GSA (Girl Scouts of America) is a secular organization, and even though they recognize God in their oath, they have adamantly claimed that they are non-discriminatory towards other religions. Why should we hold a secular organization to the beliefs of our faith when it’s clear they don’t agree.

Does a boycott actually do anything? Would we be better to call out Planned Parenthood and rant and rave about the immoral activities that they subscribe to? Shouldn’t we just educate our young people,  girls especially, about the dangers of immoral behavior?

What is the proper response?

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

3 responses »

  1. clutterholic says:

    Interesting. I’m a Christian AND a Girl Scout leader. I can assure you that my troop won’t be getting any of this at our meetings. We still focus on clean, wholesome fun and developing the girls into little leaders in the community. I’d say this falls onto Planned Parenthood for targeting girls with that message. I’ll be pointing my girls towards picking up litter and feeding the homeless, though. Thanks for sharing.

    • Chuck Mullis says:

      Thank you for your commitment to mentor these young ladies. I know firsthand that GSA does a lot of good and this was probably the exception to the rule. I will say that if my daughter was a member of that particular chapter she would be transferred.
      It never ceases to amaze me at the outlandish lengths that Planned Parenthood goes to in order to push their agenda. thanks for reading.

  2. Denise :) says:

    Actually, the national Girl Scouts organization has partnered with Planned Parenthood. I read something about it earlier this week (Chuck, originally that’s where I thought you were going with this headline). Two girls have withdrawn from GS and hosted a website explaining why. It’s http://www.speaknowgirlscouts.com/ — very interesting and eye-opening site. It breaks my heart that the national level is taking this stance.

Leave a Reply

