I came across a post from Trevin Wax titled  “11 questions Every Pastor Should Ask”. The first 6 questions were not so thought provoking and I was about to quit reading when I came to question 7.

7. If our church were to cease to exist, would anyone in the community be affected? Would anyone mourn the loss?

  • This question challenges a view of the church that exists only for itself and its members. It forces us to ask hard questions regarding our impact as a body of believers in the world God has placed us.
This got me to thinking. Unfortunately I did not like the answer I came up with because I already knew the answer. I have experienced it first hand. And this has been a daily thought of my wife and I. What can we do to change the mind of the community about our church.
We have hosted event after event, visited, hosted yard sales and gospel sings, worked on people’s homes and sent out all kinds of flyers and letters. But for what? Has any of it mattered? What’s the point?
In spite of all of this I am reminded that God is doing something more here than any of us are aware of. He is drawing this community into Him in His own time and in His own way. He doesn’t consult me and that frustrates me but at the same time it relieves me.
God hasn’t asked me to save this community or to change their mind about the church, He’s told me to love the people here.
To love them more than I love myself and honestly, it hasn’t happened yet. I am trying but I need to get self out of the way and maybe when we truly begin to love our community they will want to be apart of it.
About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

