Tim Tebow starts for Denver this weekend when they play the Miami Dolphins in Miami. I am excited to see that he is getting the opportunity and hope he performs at a level that will keep him in the spot as QB-1(don’t you love FNL).

But there are some out there who can’t wait for him to fail, and I don’t mean on the football field. Jelisa Castrodale has a story at NBC Sports that should remind us that we need to pray for this guy.

The personal attacks and angry facial expressions that follow Tebow seem to have less to do with Denver’s 1-4 record than they do with Romans 1:16, which reads “For I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Christ.” … I do sympathize with Tebow for the slings and arrows he endures, including the endless examination of his beliefs…

There are those who sit with their hands hovering expectantly over their keyboards, just waiting for what they’ll see as his inevitable misstep… They want him to be exposed as a phony, a fraud or — to borrow a word from the New Testament — a hypocrite.

Denny Burk has posted on his site, a prayer from Scripture that would be helpful in praying for Tebow this Sunday. But this prayer is not for Tebow alone. We could pray this prayer for ourselves anytime we find opposition from this world. It’s found in Psalm 57:

 Be gracious to me, O God, be gracious to me,
For my soul takes refuge in Thee;
And in the shadow of Thy wings I will take refuge,
Until destruction passes by.
2 I will cry to God Most High,
To God who accomplishes all things for me.
3 He will send from heaven and save me;
He reproaches him who tramples upon me. Selah.
God will send forth His lovingkindness and His truth.
4 My soul is among lions;
I must lie among those who breathe forth fire,
Even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows,
And their tongue a sharp sword.
5 Be exalted above the heavens, O God;
Let Thy glory be above all the earth.
6 They have prepared a net for my steps;
My soul is bowed down;
They dug a pit before me;
They themselves have fallen into the midst of it. Selah.
7 My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast;
I will sing, yes, I will sing praises!
8 Awake, my glory;
Awake, harp and lyre,
I will awaken the dawn!
9 I will give thanks to Thee, O Lord, among the peoples;
I will sing praises to Thee among the nations.
10 For Thy lovingkindness is great to the heavens,
And Thy truth to the clouds.
11 Be exalted above the heavens, O God;
Let Thy glory be above all the earth.

Thanks to Denny Burk for drawing my attention to this prayer and thanks to Tebow for unashamedly sharing the Gospel.

HT: Denny Burk

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. Slamdunk says:

    Thanks for sharing Chuck. I have been amazed at how many haters there are in the small number of people that I am exposed to–at the core, they despise that he is an outspoken Christian who takes stances rather than is just the “silent type.”

    I’ll be praying for him.

Leave a Reply

