I picked up JD Greear’s new book “Gospel:Recovering the Power that made Christianity Revolutionary”. I listen to Greear’s podcast from time to time and I have benefited from his teaching but I haven’t tuned in to him like I do Matt Chandler or Chuck Swindoll.  I think that may change.

In the introduction of this book , he recounts what he thought the gospel was and what Christianity meant, and I thought I was reading my own autobiography. He articulated what so many Christians believe about God and the Gospel, and how we get it wrong.  He reveals how we focus on the wrong things even though they are good things, but miss the point of the Gospel. We’re good at working for our salvation but not working out our salvation. We know facts and what’s expected of us but we hardly ever allow the gospel to move from our mind to our heart.

Chapter 1 is about the Gospel that is missing in our lives and I wanted to post a few quotes:

“The gospel is not just supposed to be our ticket into heaven; it is an entirely new basis for how we relate to God, ourselves and others.”

“To see spiritual fruit in your life, don’t focus primarily on the fruits. Focus on Jesus’ acceptance of you, given to you as a gift.”

“The gospel produces an obedience that is powered by desire. An obedience that is both pleasing to God and delightful to you.”

“The gospel is not just the diving board off of which we jump into the pool of Christianity; it is the pool itself.”

“The gospel has done its work in us when we crave God more than we crave everything else in life. “

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

