I can officially mark one item off of my bucket list: Living through a Tornado.

Wednesday night at approximately 6 pm as we were preparing for church, my wife received a text message that there was a tornado warning for our area. We turned on the news and saw that there had been a tornado spotted about 10 miles southwest of us and it was moving to the northeast at 35 mph.  About 5 minutes later I was in my office when I heard a roaring, rumbling noise. I ran to the living room and asked my wife if she heard the noise as well. As we look at each other in disbelief we heard the noise begin again. We grabbed our children and got in our kitchen, which is in the center of our place here, and we hunkered down preparing for something to happen. We heard all kinds of noises: metal banging, rain poring, wind blowing and this roaring noise almost like a helicopter.

In 30 seconds it was gone. We had lost power but to our amazement as we looked out our window, we didn’t see any damage to anything. Evidently it passed right beside us or just over us, but regardless we were spared of any damage.

Others just beyond us were not as fortunate. As I drove around yesterday morning surveying the damage I continually prayed  that there was no one who was seriously injured and as far as we have heard through local reports,  there have been several minor injuries but no fatalities.

God is merciful.

I’m not one to really take photos, but these are photos I’ve gotten off the web. These photos are within our neighborhood here in the George Hildebran/ Icard  area.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please pray for the people here in our community. There are over 35 homes that have been destroyed completely and hundreds more that have severe damage. There are families who have lost everything and are in need of even the basic necessities.

Pray that we would be useful, able to help, and able to minister effectively to the people here through this time. Thank You!

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

