From a recent sermon on Luke 18:18-30

…We all look to see what Christ can do for us. We expect Him to. And why is that? Deep down we believe He owes us. Did you identify with the rich young ruler when he was given the list of commandments that he was to follow? Remember his response? “I have done all these things from my youth!” We do the same thing but here is what it looks like for us:

“I have been to church all my life, I’ve taught Sunday School, I haven’t cussed, I haven’t seen any R rated movies, I threw away all of my non-Christian cd’s, I read my bible, I pray, I come to church on Sunday am/pm and Wednesdays and I even tithe.”

Look at how spiritual I am surely God is proud to have me! He will give me the desires of my heart because he said He would. He has to. Look at all that I’ve done for Him. It’s only fair!

But when is good , good enough?

Look at what Jesus says in vs. 19

Why do you call me good?

Jesus is challenging the man’s superficial view of goodness. And Jesus directs the man’s attention to God in whom ultimate goodness dwells.

God, who created the universe,  allows you and I to continue to take up space in His world. Us. The very ones who crucified His Son by our wrongdoings. The sin He knew we would commit against Him and because He is so good He chose to send His one and only Son to die a brutal death on our behalf.

And then offer us the reward of eternity with Him, if only we believe.

Isn’t He good?

How do you measure up?

If being good isn’t good enough than what is?

Surrender…

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

