It’s no secret fathers are a dying breed. Not actually fathering a child but being a father. Men who have been called by God to lead their families and their children according to Scripture.

In Doug Wilson’s book Father Hunger, he addresses the call to being a father based on God’s Word and His example as the perfect Father.

If you’re looking for a how-to on parenting, you should probably consult a different book. What I really appreciated about this book is that it pulled the  precepts for being a godly father from Scripture and didn’t give step-by-step instructions. I have learned by being a father that since no two children are the same, step-by-step instructions would have to change with each child.

What really stood out to me from this book is how from page 1 Wilson has you hooked drawing on insight from the Bible. You didn’t have to read through 2-3 chapters of filler to get to good content. From the first chapter on egalitarianism, he addresses the problem of this fatherless generation and it builds from there.

I don’t always agree with Wilson’s approach. He’s never been accused of being timid or shy. In fact he’s quite confident, bold and even a bit sarcastic at times but overall he is honest and diligent about his work. But that’s why I like reading and listening to him.Over all, while this book may not appeal to unbelievers or those who sit on the liberal side of the fence, it is a good,informative read for the diagnosis of a major problem in our culture.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

One response »

  1. Slamdunk says:

    It sounds like a book worthy of my time Chuck. Realizing that each child needs individualized attention (not one size fits all), was a lesson that I have had to experience to fully appreciate.

Leave a Reply

