I received the book “Who Do You Think You Are?” from booksneeze.com in order to review it. It has taken me some time to go through it because of other responsibilities.

It’s hard to say if I am a fan of Mark Driscoll or not. I have benefited greatly by some of his sermons and sometimes I think he misses the point of the passage. But regardless of your view of him, I will say that I enjoyed this book more than I did his book on marriage.

Driscoll gives an expository and accurate look at the letter to the Ephesians in this book. At times there seems to be a bit of duplication in the explanation of topics but he does follow the text. But what really stands out in this book is Driscoll’s love for the gospel. You don’t have to read very far into each chapter without reading of Christ’s life, death, and resurrection being brought up and you can tell that its mentioning is done from a love for what Christ has done for him.
You sense a pastoral tone to each chapter as if he is counseling you one on one. Very unusual but very intriguing.

Most importantly, this book focuses on who we are in Christ and how our sin debt does not disqualify us from a relationship with our Heavenly Father.

This is a good book for new and seasoned Christians alike and one I will probably recommend to those who struggle with their identity in Christ.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

